Erasing Yourself From Websites Got a Little Easier

Andrew Orr Informative Internet Guides

Have you ever created an account for a website, but never used it much and wanted to delete it? Some websites make it easy. Others like Facebook act like a jilted lover and make it near impossible to fully remove your personal data from their business. This is where a website called AccountKiller comes in.

Further Reading

How To Minimize Your Digital Footprint with DNS Watch

Signal: The Right Way To Encrypt Our Communications

AccountKiller

AccountKiller does most of the hard work for you. It can not delete the accounts for you, but it will tell you how. It has a huge list of websites. AccountKiller rates them by color based on how easy it is to delete your account. Sites on the blacklist do not delete user data. Whitelisted domains make account deletion simple. Websites in the middle are part of the gray list. Gray listed sites are moderately hard. Here are some examples.

Facebook

It is my argument that Facebook’s ultimate goal is not to “connect the world” but to vacuum up your personal data and exploit your emotions to sell you ads. This, I think, is the main reason why deleting your Facebook account is so complicated: they do not want you to leave.

Facebook01The majority of apps, websites, and services let you create an account with them through Facebook. Which means deleting your Facebook account could delete many other accounts. Nefarious eh?

Facebook02If you’re ready to leave Facebook go into Facebook settings. Click Security; you’ll find the option way down at the bottom. It will show you photos of your friends in a psychopathic guilt-trip to get you to stay. Ignore it. You’ll also have to agree that you understand everything will be removed. Delete any apps and pages that you’ve linked and created.

Facebook03

Google

Google collects more data on people than most other companies, even Facebook. Thankfully, Google has worked hard to remain transparent over most of its practices. Deleting your Google account or Google+ is easy. In fact, I just deleted my Google+ account last week.

One thing to keep in mind: when you delete your Google+ account, your photos may or may not get deleted as well. It is a good idea to remove your individual photos before account deletion. If you use Google Photos then your photos won’t be affected and you can still use the service. You can find out more information by reading the Terms of Service/Privacy Policy.

google01Google keeps your Google+ account separate from the rest of its services like Gmail and YouTube. You can delete your Google+ account and not have anything else affected.

google02To get started, first, sign into your Google account. Go to Account Preferences and select Delete your account or services. Next, choose Delete Google Account and data. You will have to review what you’re deleting. Click both checkmarks at the bottom of the page. Finally, select Delete Account.

google03

Conclusion

Erasing your tracks should not be difficult. With AccountKiller, you are one step closer to reclaiming your privacy.